Plant-based diets are having a bit of a moment right now, and for good reason. There are endless benefits to quitting meat, such as lowered blood pressure and improved heart health. With society hopping on the bandwagon, brands have gone above and beyond to cater to those who prefer their veggies.
Meatless burgers and vegetarian chocolates may hit the spot, but there is a range of famous products that are actually not vegetarian-friendly.
Here are four foods to take off your vegetarian list:
You’ll be heartbroken to know that this insanely delicious sugary treat is not vegetarian-friendly. The gelatin used to make these gooey little worms are made with animal fat, placing it on the no-no list. Thankfully, there is a range of alternatives perfect for those looking to cut out animal products but enjoy some sour sweets.
Did you know that the main ingredient in this salty sauce is anchovies? Yup, you’ll have to look elsewhere for that extra boost of fishy flavour. But there are several vegetarian options that taste exactly like the original Worcestershire sauce recipe, so no worries.
Sweet heavenly cloud puffs, these little angelic treats are another product that contains gelatin. For our meat-lovers out there, you’ll be happy to know that this gelatin is taken from the collagen found inside animal skin and bones. Try and avoid it at all costs if you’re vegetarian, says IOL.
Who doesn’t enjoy sprinkling this over their pizza or a creamy plate of pasta? If you’re on the hunt for authentic parmesan cheese, you’ll need to find an alternative product because authentic Parmesan is prepared using animal rennet, which is a set of enzymes taken from a calf’s stomach – yum!