Minister of Home Affairs, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, has approved essential travel for South Africans wanting to return to their base countries.

This decision come after consultations with the Department of International Relations and Cooperation and the National Coronavirus Command Council.

Travel, however, is only permitted in certain circumstances due to the current restrictions being observed around the world. According to Home Affairs, South Africans who wish to leave the Republic are permitted to depart only for the following reasons:

– Work

– Study

– Family reunion

– Take up permanent residency

– Receive medical attention

Those wishing to return to their countries of residence will require the following:

– A copy of their valid South African passport

– A letter confirming their admissibility under the current circumstances from the embassy or other diplomatic/consular representative of the country they want to travel to.

– If returning by road or connecting via flights, the proof submitted needs to include permission from each transiting country.

– Proof of means of travel such as air or bus tickets and the intended date of departure.

South Africans who fall in these categories and satisfy the criteria can send an email to¬†[email protected]. If applying as a group, one email containing the supporting documents of each member of the group may be sent.

An email will be sent to travellers who meet the criteria to enable them to proceed with their travel arrangements.

Picture: Pixabay

Article written by