Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma provided a detailed briefing on the classification of industries as part of the risk-adjusted strategy on re-opening the economy as announced by President Ramaphosa.

South Africa will enter Level 4 on May 1, which means there is a moderate increase of infections but also an increased readiness of medical facilities.

Credit: Supplied

The Minister reiterated that if individuals and companies do not stick to restrictions, the government will have no option but to move back to Level 5 of lockdown.

Things that will remain in place includes no inter-provincial travel and no social, religious or any other gatherings except for work or funerals will be allowed.

Exercise will be allowed under certain conditions, but no gyms will reopen and no organised sport will take place.

“We should not feel overwhelmed,” added  Dlamini-Zuma. “Let’s approach it as a challenge to be met collectively.”

“There may come a time where we differentiate the levels between provinces or metro districts, but for now, we will all be on Level 4.”

The Minister showed a graphic to indicate which parts of the country are affected most:

The red indicates the highest concentration of infections.

An important new regulation is that wearing a cloth face mask when leaving the house will be mandatory. “You can use a scarf or shirt. Don’t use surgical masks, leave it for those on the front line,” the Minister said. “The rest of us will wear cloth masks.”

She also urged companies not to take shortcuts regarding health and safety measures. Workers must be screened for symptoms and anyone who presents symptoms must get tested and leave work. She also added that during any level of the lockdown, those who can work at home must do so, especially those above the age of 60.

2020 04 25 Permitted goods, services and movement (Public Version)

Picture: Unsplash

Article written by

Anita Froneman