The National State of Disaster in South Africa has been extended until November 15 2020. The announcement was made in a directive published on Wednesday, October 14.

“Cabinet has decided to further extend the National State of Disaster by a month,” Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma wrote on Twitter.

“This period will allow government a progressive and responsible return to normal. It will help us put measures in place to avoid a second wave of infections.”

The State of Disaster as set out by Dlamini-Zuma was instated “having recognised that special circumstances exist to warrant the declaration of a national state of disaster [due to the global COVID-19 pandemic as declared by the World Health Organisation]”.

“The Section 27(2) of the Act may, when required, make regulations or issue directions or authorise the issue of directions concerning the matters listed. This Act will be implemented in so far as it is necessary for the purpose of:

(a) assisting and protecting the public;
(b) providing relief to the public;
(c) protecting property;
(d) preventing or combatting disruption; or
(e) dealing with the destructive and other effects of the disaster

Read the official directive here: Cogta-14-October

Picture: Twitter/NationalCoGTA

Article written by

Anita Froneman