The HSBC World Sevens series dates are confirmed to take place on 8 – 9 December 2018 in Cape Town. As a rugby-loving city, we can begin prepping for the big day. The dates were confirmed by the governing body of World Rugby.

The Mother City is the most supportive leg on the tour, drawing a crowd of 100 000 at previous events. There is no denying that Capetonians love a good game of rugga. The event will be played across 10 countries from 30 November until 2 June 2019.

Cape Town Sevens are notoriously known for an energetic crowd vibe and is a huge drawcard event for all locals.

The World Sevens Series kicks off in Dubai on 30 November, and make its way to Cape Town shortly after. The finale will take place in Paris from 1 – 2 June 2019.

The World Series sets the stage for countries and teams to qualify for the World Olympics, World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont shared with TimesLIVE, “As we enter an Olympic Games qualifying year‚ the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series promises to again be highly competitive as teams look to secure their place‚ via the World Series‚ at Tokyo 2020.”

Teams will not only be competing for the cup but also for a place in the Olympics of 2020.

The World Series schedule:

Dubai, UAE: 30 November – 1 December 2018

Cape Town, South Africa : 8 – 9 December 2018

Hamilton, New Zealand: 26 – 27 January 2018

Sydney, Australia: 2 -3 February 2018

Las Vegas, United Stated of America: 1 – 3 March 2019

Vancouver, Canada: 9 – 10 March 2019

Hong Kong: 5 – 7 April 2019

Singapore: 13 – 14 April 2019

London, England: 25 – 26 May 2019

Paris, France: 1 – 2 June 2019

For those wanting to brush up on their Rugby knowledge, check out our Rugby for Dummies guide. 


Picture: SA Rugby Magazine

Article written by

We love this place! Cape Town Etc features news, reviews, entertainment and lifestyle in the Mother City.