On Monday, twelve cities around the world – including Cape Town – signed an agreement to buy only zero emission buses from 2025.

In the move to help create a greener planet, the cities also pledged to make major areas free of fossil fuels by 2030, signing the world’s first “fossil-fuel-free streets declaration”. Activities such as walking and cycling, and the use of public transport, would be increasingly promoted to residents of those represented cities at the two-day C40 summit in Oslo.

The list of cities included Cape Town, Auckland, Barcelona, Copenhagen, London, Paris, Los Angeles, Milan, Mexico City, Quito, Seattle and Vancouver, represented at the summit by their respective mayors. These cities are of the C40 Cities network, a decade-old climate leadership group which now includes 91 cities worldwide.

Photography Unsplash

Article written by


We love this place! Cape Town Etc features news, reviews, entertainment and lifestyle in the Mother City.